Four Nigerians Shortlisted for Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2017

The judges for the fifth Brunel International African Poetry Prize 2017 yesterday announced ten fortunate poets who had reached the shortlist stage for the poetry prize that aimed at celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa. Four Nigerians were included on the list.

Ten poets have reached the shortlist for the fifth annual Brunel International African Poetry Prize - a major award of £3000 aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa.

This year’s prize attracted some 1,200 entries – doubling the size of the competition since its launch in 2012.

The prize is sponsored by Brunel University London and Common Wealth and is open to African poets worldwide who have not yet published a full poetry collection. Each poet has to submit 10 poems to be eligible. The winner/s will be announced on May 2nd 2017.

This year’s shortlist:

Sahro Ali (Somalia); Leila Chatti (Tunisia); Kayo Chingonyi (Zambia); Saddiq Dzukogi (Nigeria); Yalie Kamara (Sierra Leone); Kechi Nomu (Nigeria); Richard Oduor Oduku (Kenya); Romeo Oriogun (Nigeria); Rasaq Malik (Nigeria); Nick Makoha (Uganda).

 The judges this year are the poets and academics: Chris Abani (Northwestern University); Kwame Dawes (University of Nebraska); Safia Elhillo (winner of the 2015 Prize); Patricia Jabbeh Welsley (Penn State University) and Chair and founder, Bernardine Evaristo (Brunel University London).

On announcing the shortlist, Bernardine Evaristo said: “The judges have come up with a shortlist of ten poets who reflect the increased quality and diversity of contemporary African poetry. We have always received very few entries from North Africa and so we are delighted to count a North African poet on this shortlist for the first time. Likewise with Muslim background poets, whose presence reflects a similar increase in entries.

Earlier, two Nigerians, Gbenga Adesina and Chekwube O. Danladi, emerged the joint winners of this prize last year.

The winner(s) for 2017 prize would be announced on 2nd May, 2017.


Popular posts from this blog

Is the English Language a Curse or Blessing to Nigeria? by Olaniyi Abdulwaheed

The leader (an Arabian sonnet)- A Poem by Brigitte Poirson